O Frabjous Day!

Welcome to my newly created portfolio/blog!  If this were Livejournal or Tumblr, this would call for a gif party, but here I’ll limit myself to just one.

Wait, I’ve got one more:

My name is Celine and this blog is both an exercise and a passion. I’ve been on the internet since the early 90s, and have been gaming and writing earlier than that.  Unfortunately, back in the Commodore Days, there wasn’t much of an social outlet for writing/video game geek pretensions, and so most of my Nurse Edna/Razor scribbles were relegated to a slush heap of spiral bound notebooks deep in my closet.

 Writing and even reading for pleasure, ended up on a back burner throughout university, though not gaming, surprisingly.  When looking at another book or another blank word document caused angry bees to roil in my colon, it was infinitely easier to pick up a controller and lose myself in a couple matches of Mario Kart or Smash Bros.  I started playing World of Warcraft around the same time, because of how easy it was pick up and put down according to your time.  I spent a hefty amount of time fishing up Stonescale Eels in Tanaris to fund my mount money while studying, which was a) no small feat on a PvP server, b) no small feat for a level 23 gnome on a PvP server, considering that gnomes emit pheremones to every Forsaken rogue within a 100 yard radius.

Graduation found me employed in a regular 9-5 job, and suddenly I had free time again.  I spent at least two years wallowing in total fictional abandonment. It was great. It was as if one day I found out ice cream cake and coffee was not only nutritionally sustainable but good for me. It also woke up the roaring novel-writing beast in my heart, and after two aborted attempts to complete NaNoWriMo in 2007 and 2009, I finally completed the 50k mark in 2010 with the novel I’m currently working to complete, Talitha Cumi.

But once I started writing again, I realized I couldn’t stop.  I was writing short fiction! Poetry!  Even something I hadn’t touched since my online Sailor Moon RPing days as a pre-teen – fanfiction.   It turns out I wasn’t even all that bad at it. Warcraft is such a great medium for extra-canonical storytelling because while the story is vast and rich, there are always holes in the lore that can be poked at and pondered.

The other place where my interest in games and writing collided was with Bioware’s Dragon Age: Origins. I hadn’t read any spoilers or walkthroughs prior to my first playthrough, and so I was totally and utterly wrecked by the time I got to end game.  My Aeducan had made some good choices, namely:

and some not good choices, which led to a really tragic ending for her.  We’re talking ‘end of the Deathly Hallows’ level tears crisis here.  But, like the Blizzard writing contest, it got me thinking in detail about the lives of the NPCs after DA:O ended, about certain lacks in the current speculative fiction landscape (like amazing dwarves) and then also, how cool it must be to create the in-game story to begin with.

So there you have it: creative developer aspirant, author errant, and all around geek.  Please feel free to email or post with any questions, and once again – Welcome!

One thought on “O Frabjous Day!

Leave a Reply

