Goat Simulator is So Important

I want to take a sec and thank everyone on Facebook, Twitter and here for their support during the aftermath of Gary’s death.  It hit both me and Chris really hard, and even people from around the globe who’d gotten used to me posting his mug all over the place were saddened by the loss. Even a month later, I’m still really struggling to cope, but I can mostly write about it without crying now, so if you want or need to talk to someone about their first experience with losing a beloved pet, I’m your gal.

But the past month wasn’t all bad.  You know what I’m talking about. Goat. Simulator.

Image

I’d been hearing murmurs about Goat Simulator, like some kind of indie game developer Stonecutters secret society. Were you in with the goat, or not? It was never clear whether Goat Simulator (or as I like to call it GoSim)(don’t do that) was real or not.  The answer is no, not really but yes, it is. 

You can get the bare details (and the purchase link!) over at the official website along with the amazing trailer.  The game is amazing for a number of reasons – it’s a game, like flappy bird, that doesn’t make a lot of sense but will probably inspire fiercely loyal fans (maybe without the death threats this time, eh? no?)  It was a Joke that become a Real Game.  

Image

It’s hard to pinpoint where the charm of the game lies, exactly.  For me, it’s not in the goat’s ridiculously long and mysteriously sticky tongue, though that’s amazing. It’s not even the fact you can earn achievements in the game, like “get hit by car” and “michael bay” for causing an explosion, though for an achievement nerdlord like yours truly, it’s perfect.  What I love about the whole thing so far is that like many other simulator games out there like QWOP, or or Surgeon Simulator, it’s using the same absurd physics engine that they do only it’s just for everything else around you.  From the looks of it, operating the goat is a relatively simple experience.  Operating the goat in a bizarre sandbox world full of rubber people, exploding gas stations and satanic circles to sacrifice dead humans to the blood lord Baal and then roll the humans around in a gory katamari is the real experience.

Image

 

Bear in mind, I’m the person who waxed philosophical about twitch plays pokemon and the gestalt.  German philosophers would probably find me intolerable, you know what I’m saying?  Slavoj Zizek has a twitter making fun of me.  Probably, the root enjoyment of the game is it’s fucking hilarious. look at it.  Nonetheless I do think there’s something to be said for the relationship between gamers and the glitch.  I can spend hours laughing over blogs documenting Sims pet glitches, or how Crap Taxidermy reduces me to tears.  Consider the fact there is Pokemon glitch creepypasta.

Image

not that the sims glitches weren’t also creepy

Plus, there’s something to be said for just losing your mind for a few hours licking people, destroying their homes and flying around space.  Live a little.  Be the goat. Sacrifice shitty adulthood on the altar of demon goat katamari damacy.

Oh, and there’s mini games too. 

 

Leave a Reply

