Yes, Virginia, There Is Misogyny (and It Kills Women)

A brief thought exercise for media and people ignoring the fact that UCSB shooter was driven to kill by his hatred of and sense of entitlement towards women (all text taken from the posted manifesto on Scribd; h/t to wehuntedthemammoth for highlighting some of the quotes I used below).  Needless as it may be to say, trigger warning for graphic hatred of women and depictions of violence against them:

I was completely and utterly alone. No one knew me or extended a hand to help me. I was an innocent, scared little girl trapped in a jungle full of malicious predators, and I was shown no mercy.Some girls randomly pushed me against the lockers as they walked past me in the hall. One girl who was tall and had blonde hair called me a “loser”, right in front of her boyfriends. Yes, she had boys with her. Good-looking guys. And they didn’t seem to mind that she was such an evil bitch. In fact, I bet they liked her for it. This is how guys are, and I was starting to realize it. This was what truly opened my eyes to how brutal the world is. The most meanest and depraved of women come out on top, and men flock to these women. Their evil acts are rewarded by men; while the good, decent girls are laughed at. It is sick, twisted, and wrong in every way. I hated the men even more than the bullies because of this. The sheer cruelty of the world around me was so intense that I will never recover from the mental scars. Any experience I ever had before never traumatized me as much as this.
Males truly have something mentally wrong with them. Their minds are flawed, and at this point in my life I was beginning to see it. The more I explored my college town of Isla Vista, the more ridiculousness I witnessed. All of the hot, sexy guys walked around with mean, valley girl bitches who partied all the time and acted crazy. They should be going for intelligent ladies such as myself. Men are sexually attracted to the wrong type of woman. This is a major flaw in the very foundation of humanity. It is completely and utterly wrong, in every sense of the word. As these truths fully dawned on me, I became deeply disturbed by them. Deeply disturbed, offended, and traumatized.
 What I truly wanted… what I truly NEEDED, was a boyfriend.  I needed a guy’s love. I needed to feel worthy as a female. For so long I have felt worthless, and it’s all guys’ fault. No guy wanted to be my boyfriend.
If I can’t have it, I will destroy it. I will destroy all men because I can never have them. I will make them all suffer for rejecting me. I will arm myself with deadly weapons and wage a war against all men and the women they are attracted to.
The most good-looking of men choose to mate with the most callous of women, instead of magnificent ladies like myself. Men should not have the right to choose who to mate and breed with. That decision should be made for them by rational women of intelligence. If men continue to have rights, they will only hinder the advancement of the human race by breeding with degenerate women and creating stupid, degenerate offspring. This will cause humanity to become even more depraved with each generation. Men have more power in human society than they deserve, all because of sex. There is no creature more evil and depraved than the human male.
The first strike against men will be to quarantine all of them in concentration camps. At these camps, the vast majority of the male population will be deliberately starved to death. That would be an efficient and fitting way to kill them all off. I would take great pleasure and satisfaction in condemning every single man on earth to starve to death.

Would you read this and go “Oh wow, this woman sure has problems with men.  She doesn’t even talk to them, and she hates them all for not noticing her!” OF COURSE YOU WOULD.  But of course, it’s normal to hate women for being sexually unavailable. So normal in fact that hardly a whisper of the word misogyny is mentioned in the mainstream media regarding coverage of the shooting (unless it’s to deny it outright).  Even fewer are mentioning his racism, re: his obsession over blonde white women and hating them, and how they let MOC “steal” them.  Sure, they mention his hatred of the women he saw as snubbing him, but that’s not the same thing, is it? Shit, a woman barely gets the word “feminist” out before men are complaining she hates all men.

It shouldn’t take a ridiculous counterfactual to bring this to people’s attention. And yet, here we are.

Leave a Reply

